Remembering Manning Village Teams Cricket Grand Final

The completion of the 2020-21 Manning Cricket season marked the 75th Anniversary of the 1945-46 Grand Final.

That season was the resumption of the sport in the Manning following World War II.

The Village Green (Central Park), Wingham was the venue for the decider between neighbouring villages Burrell Creek and Tinonee. Neither club had ever won an A Grade title since the Manning Association was formed in 1893. Thus, the stakes were high for Tinonee, an original government town and nearby Burrell Creek, a close knit rural community.

Burrell Creek batted first and tallied a worthy team total of 268 runs. Vince Martin at just nineteen and a half years of age dominated the Tinonee bowling with a majestic 137. George Titcume (24) and Bob Cox (22) were the next best while four other batsmen reached double figures. The Tinonee side was best served by Weller Maiden with 5-95.

In reply Tinonee was dismissed for a meagre 70 runs, to all but hand the title to the Creek boys. Jack Abbott took the bowling honours with four wickets.

In the second innings Tinonee showed some resolve to compile 166, Fred George (42), Dudley Johnston (31) and J Gollan 25 not out, the principal run-getters.

The spin bowling of Ron Martin with four wickets for 61 dashed any hopes of a Tinonee comeback.

Fred Lambert captained Tinonee while Jack Abbott was the skipper of the victorious Burrell Creek side.

Numerous players from both sides continued playing well beyond this game and also served as officials of the MRD Cricket Association.

Among spectators at the game were cousins Johnny and Alan Martin cheering their home team, Burrell Creek.

Incidentally, this was the sole A Grade premiership win by Burrell Creek while Tinonee never registered a top grade title.

Burrell Creek: Eric Easton  Ron Martin  Vince Martin  Jack Abbott  Stan Wells  Jack Keppie  George Titcume  Bob Cox  Tom Cox  Warwick Martin  Neville Andrews

Tinonee:  R Smith  Weller Maiden  Will Muldoon  Bill Lambert  Arch Murray  Fred Lambert  Dudley Johnston  Fred George Royce Johnston  Charlie Edwards  J Gollan

Les Eastaway 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.